Recovering My Heart From Folds

this flash fiction was approved for the Etisalat 2016 Flash Fiction contest

 

 

Related image

 I met her irrigating a bar of bougainvillea flowers in her family garden. There were arctic breezes hurtling up from the wintry Atlantic. When they swept her supple cheeks, unfurled a luxurious shock of cherry hair, unraveling the lustrous face of a seraph I melted to rivulet and changed my mind

She ran after me with loud calls echoing in the pit of my stomach like I were hollow.

Slowing, I were, feeling nothing but rage when she stood before me, panting and perceptibly Suicidal.

We kept mute, the muteness barely unnerving me. It’s a phenomenon we were used to when she falls away.

I hadn’t gotten off once, but she, umpteen times. When she slipped she apologized. And Like a young adder I had her curled round my neck. Once, she fell away with Kayita, my own prized   Lekki buddy for a huge-naira game he won at the mangrove side of Ikoyi. I was livid I concluded we most go our ways, to recoup our hearts from pleats.

After all, Lagos, the city of glossy girls, has more to offer than dying in the arms of an indifferent lover.

I met her irrigating a bar of bougainvillea flowers in her family garden. There were arctic breezes hurtling up from the wintry Atlantic. When they swept her supple cheeks, unfurled a luxurious shock of cherry hair, unraveling the lustrous face of a seraph I melted to rivulet and changed my mind. In a subdued fury, I expressed my dissatisfaction. She apologized and had my lips properly nuzzled.

She fell again and again in avalanche until I felt she falls because she’s aware I’m always on the ground to catch her. Am an handsome ‘Lagosian’ she mustn’t blotch my heart like a race-less mongrel.

I have decided to go. And as she stood before me panting, tears slithering off her eyes, with the mute I know, breeze unfurling her shock, debunking my soft spot, her face of seraph, I glowered, turned and walked away, recovering my heart from folds.

            

 

Leave a Reply

